Automatically Set Approvers based on Requestor's Property using Scriptrunner

Alvin
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 2, 2018

Hello , I am new to JIRA, can someone help me with my problem

I want to create a simple post function on JIRA Service Desk that automatically sets the Approvers Field based on the requestor's manager. 

(i.e. if Requestor 1 creates a ticket, then the post function will read the property of requestor 1 and then finds the Manager and automatically set it to Approvers Field)

Any comments/suggestions are really appreciated. If you can also provide a sample post-function code for this one, that would be great. 

Thanks!

5 answers

1 accepted

Suggest an answer

1 vote
Answer accepted
Mauricio Karas
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
September 5, 2018

Hey, Alvin.

I was able to set the approver based on a property with the following script running as a post-function in the "create issue" transition:

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor
import com.atlassian.jira.user.UserPropertyManager
import com.atlassian.jira.user.ApplicationUser
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.util.DefaultIssueChangeHolder
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.ModifiedValue

//Gets the user property value based on the key.
def propertyKey = 'Manager'; //Property name
UserPropertyManager userPropertyManager = ComponentAccessor.getUserPropertyManager();
def propertyValue = userPropertyManager.getPropertySet(issue.getReporter())?.getString('jira.meta.'+propertyKey);

//Gets the approver based on the property.
ApplicationUser approver = ComponentAccessor.getUserManager().getUserByKey(propertyValue);
List<ApplicationUser> approvers = new ArrayList<>();
approvers.add(approver);