Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Age of issue in Days using Scriptrunner Scripted Field

Beverly Braham-Durica December 8, 2020

I've been going through all of the questions and resolutions for creating a field using Scriptrunner to calculate the number of days an issue has been opened.

I'm a novice at scripting so some of the resolutions have not made sense to me.

Here's what I've tried:

First attempt:

import com.atlassian.core.util.DateUtils
DateUtils.getDurationString(((new Date().getTime() - issue.getCreated().time) / 1000) as Long)

Which returns with the format of w  d  h  m

example from one of my issues 31w 2d 12h 33m

Second attempt:

import com.atlassian.core.util.DateUtils
DateUtils.getDurationString(((new Date().getTime() - issue.getCreated().time) / 86400000) as Long)

Which returns as Months

I just need to get days only for my customer - again I'm new at scripting and have been researching this, not finding any recommendations that lead to just days. If there is a rounding that needs to be done to this script or a completely different script - please give me the steps.

Thank you fellow Atlassian Folks!

2 answers

2 accepted

Suggest an answer

0 votes
Answer accepted
Peter-Dave Sheehan
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 8, 2020

I get my day durations like this when I want whole days.

def durationMillis = new Date().time - issue.created.time
def days= Math.round(durationMillis / 1000 / 60 / 60/ 24)

You could also use Math.floor() if you want a day to be counted only after a full 24 hours has passed. Math.round does a simple arithmetic rounding to the nearest integer.

Thank you! I'll check that out too - I really appreciate this :)

@Peter-Dave Sheehan how does this go into the script? Again, I'm very novice at this and I'm not sure how to insert this