Friday Fun: Phone-free Friday 📵

Dreamsuite Mike
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 1, 2023

Having turned 40 in April, I recently came out of the other side of my mid-life crisis this year.  I managed to avoid some of common side effects like buying a sports car or motorbike😀

Mid-life-crisis GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

I did however come to realise that there is not a single thing in life more valuable than time and set out on a mission to live each and every day with a newfound urgency.

I have to STOP wasting time, something that I am an expert in.

One of my biggest time wasters is my phone.  It took a lot of soul searching to admit 
"I am addicted"
I don't use my phone, my phone uses me.    

social-media-ga31998224_1280.png

A quick addiction test. 

If you use your phone whilst you're using the toilet without a seconds thought about how gross that is, you are indeed addicted...

The hardest part is admitting it so now I am doing something about it: Up to now I have:

• Removed all apps that don't give me anything
  • Disabled all notifications except calls and old school SMS messages
  • Moved my phone charger to a corner of the bedroom so it is not within my reach when I'm in bed
  • Keep my phone in a different room when working
  • I started wearing a watch (first time since the year 2000) so I am not dependent the phone for time
  • Have no phone rule when meeting friends and family

My addiction is reasonably mild but younger generations have it really bad

teens staring at phones Memes - Imgflip

I think back to my very first phone, in 1999.  The legendary Nokia 5110. 

Was I much different back then?  I spent hours calling people with my free minutes, I was crazily trying hacks to get free SMS and wasted hours playing snake