Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Trello for request managment

Rolondo Talbott September 12, 2019

We are thinking of using Trello to handle request management, which also includes notifications and workflow. Based on the following basic requirements, is this something that can be created in Trello?

As an IT member, I want to submit a request for assistance in a communication matter so that my request is addressed in the quickest possible manner.

As a Communication manager, I want a form by which an IT member can submit a request for a communication need, answer a series of clarifying questions, indicate a level of priority and attach supporting documentation so that the request can be comprehensively evaluated.

As a Communication manager, I want requests to be approved by leadership so that I know that the request is valid and vetted.

As a Communication Manager, I want the progress and status of my work to be visible to all users and for requestors to be notified when their work traverses statuses so that, there is transparency in my work.

3 answers

0 votes
Chris Marts September 14, 2019

It seems you could certainly model many elements of what you want in Trello.

1st list is "Requests."

Depending on how sophisticated the IT users are, they can simply follow instructions/convention when adding cards, including copying a "TEMPLATE / COPY ME" card which contains the template for the clarifying questions in the description (even better, use a Butler rule to populate description when card is created in the "Requests" list).

Severity can be a custom field (Custom Fields Power-Up). Same with Priority, or try the new "Card Priority" Power-Up.

Other labels could be used to flag common scenarios or other parameters of the request (Rush, Approval Not Required, etc...).