Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there a way to link multiple trello boards together other than attaching or a freemium power-up?

Bronwyn Pearson
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
February 21, 2020

Hello; 

I've been using Trello for a couple of months for the organization of mostly personal life and some projects I'm creating for fun.  It started off as one big board but I ended up with a lot of lists and lots of cards on the lists.  I installed a Chrome Extension that squishes the horizontal layout (which made for lots of scrolling) to a page view layout but even that can get pretty messy when you're moving cards around to different lists or even in the same one (for the ones with lots of tasks or details).  So multiple boards were made for some of the bigger projects, but I do a good deal of freelance work in web design and writing legal documents so there are some things I can work on and kill two birds with one stone, so to speak, but it can also get into a lot of cross-referencing among cards.  

I haven't really gotten into all the guts and inner workings of Trello but the lists and cards on the project boards are getting a little cumbersome so I started looking for ways to link them together to make micromanaging them a little easier.  

A quick google search found this article from Trello's blog  It didn't go into any steps but from the animated picture, it looks like they just linked another board URL as an attachment on a card on the "master" board.  This is okay for saving a few clicks when hopping between boards but that seems to be it.  Then there was this second post that did address linking cards, but this becomes problematic when you're working on a sort of hierarchy structure of different cards on the same list.