Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Are personal boards completely private?

jsmeltser July 15, 2020

Just started using Trello with the team I work with and want to create personal boards for projects outside of work. I know personal boards are private but are they completely private? For example, I've been an admin in the past with other team productivity tools and the admin had access to all data for each member whether the data was collaborative or private to the individual. 

Here's my question, is data on my personal boards available to an admin or any other higher-level user on my team?

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Soumyadeep Mandal
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 15, 2020

Hi @jsmeltser & @Alex ,

Welcome to the community!

Basically, When you create a board you have to choose the private board option for that and choose team to no team! It will create the board completely private and will store it at your account!

If you choose any team while creating a board and also choose private/personal board option the team admin will able to see only the board name and info but no one can access the board from inside.

For more information: https://help.trello.com/article/1177-personal-vs-team-boards

Michael Pryor
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 15, 2020

"I've been an admin in the past with other team productivity tools and the admin had access to all data for each member whether the data was collaborative or private to the individual. "