Price Change Trello - Observers

Tracy Hoekstra November 14, 2018

Full disclosure: As a small business owner, I am frustrated by Trello's price change and I have let them know. 

Despite the change, my biggest frustration is with the concept of "observers". Can someone clarify for me whether observers will be charged the full price if they are on multiple boards? 

Ironically, I pay for the business class so I can have observers who don't mess with my work. There is a problem if Trello is asking me to pay full price to have people who can NOT use the board. 

Trello, please tell me observers are excluded from this price change. If they aren't excluded, I am interested in hearing about other's reaction to the policy. Does it make sense? Will it change how you use Trello?

3 comments

Mike
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
November 16, 2018

Hi Tracy,

If an Observer is a member of multiple boards, then yes, they would be subject to the same Multi-Board Guest policy, and would be charged the same rate.

You might have some options for how to deal with this without the additional cost, and we're more than happy to talk that through at https://trello.com/contact. We'll be happy to help!

Anjali Jariwala March 6, 2019

@Mike What are the options so we don't have the additional cost?  I am going to cancel Trello otherwise as my cost is going to go up by 20x which is not feasible for me - I am a small business owner.  Right now I have myself and another team member. We create a board for each of our client households.  It appears my team member and I are getting charged a member fee for every board we are on. Is there a way around having to pay this? I also find it frustrating that this wasn't really communicated and instead I came across my new billing schedule because I happened to check it.

Like S B likes this
Mike
Atlassian Team