My 3 Favorite Ways to Use Trello As I Embrace Remote Work

I know working remotely is a bit of an adjustment for most people, but thankfully Trello makes it a little easier. I've been working remotely for over two years now, and I've learned a lot along the way, but having the right culture and the right tools are what makes all the difference.

I might write another article about culture at some point, but right now I'm going to write about the right tools, and specifically my favorite right tool... Trello!

Here are 5 ways I use Trello to stay sane and on top of my work while I embrace remote work. 

1. Managing my to do list

Whether you're in an office or not, it can be hard to keep track of all your work. I use Trello to manage my work in Scrum/agile fashion. It's easy - just create a to-do, doing, done list.  As you get new tasks, add them to To-Do, and when you work on them move them into Doing, then drag over to Done once you've accomplished them! (If you want, you can get more creative with the list names.)

image.png

This board works great if you are working alone, but even better if you have a team. You can easily add members to tasks and filter the board to see only what you need to see. It's easy to asynchronously communicate (ie - doesn't happen at the same time... someone can comment on something and respond later). No more wondering where this or that project is at... you can check on it on the Trello board and find everything you need!

Here's my template if you want to try it for yourself and with your team.

2. Things to do during Quarantine

All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy they say right? Don't wear yourself out with work all day. Even if your job doesn't change during this stay-at-home time, you still need to make sure that you incorporate some free time in your day to stay sane, otherwise you'll actually find your work suffers.