Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What are the ways to gather people for usability tests of Jira applications?

Piotr_Śmiałek_Deviniti January 25, 2023

Hi all,

I work as a UX designer for Jira apps. I wonder if you know some good processes of finding Jira users for usability tests. As far as I know this shouldn't be done on the atlassian community. Do you know any other methods to find participants for such a sessions?

1 comment

Comment

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 25, 2023

I work for an Atlassian partner that has quite a few products and has for a long long time.

Finding people to do UX tests is a "pain in the neck".  We lean on existing clients a bit (and are trying to do it more because their experiences are much more useful than our guesswork), and market research of course.  And looking at competitors, where Atlassian is going, and more.

But I really really want to contradict one thing you said.

"finding Jira users for usability tests. As far as I know, this shouldn't be done on the Atlassian community"

I completely understand why you've formed that idea, but, no, actually, go for it.  As long as

• The thing you are testing is Atlassian related.
  • You are open about who you work for (volunteer it - say it in the content, or change your display name to include it).  A lot of us are lazy on this one - you should see "Adaptavist" in my display name, so I don't need to think about announcing it on every post.
  • You are clear about what the testing is for and how any results will be used (I will sign up for any Atlassian tests I feel I might be helpful for, but that's my job, and hobby.  Other people might not be, so it is worth asking about how their data and feedback may be used)