How do I re-index if there isn't an Indexing option in Advanced System Settings?

Manthan January 8, 2019

How to re-index any particular JIRA project?

3 answers

1 vote
Taranjeet Singh
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 8, 2019

@Manthan

You can reindex a single JIRA project, as a JIRA administrator, by:

1. Visit the project
  2. Click on the "Project settings" on the bottom left of the screen.
  3. On "Project settings" page, Click on "Re-index project" option from the left hand side menu.
  4. Click on "Start project re-index" button to perform the project re-indexing.
Manthan January 9, 2019

I have checked under project setting and JIRA setting as well, but I am not getting option Re-Index project.

Smita March 22, 2020

I dont see the Reindex Project option in JIRA cloud. I am an administrator and site admin . What is wrong?

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 11, 2020

You don't need to re-index Cloud, Atlassian does it for you when your system gets into a state where it might be needed.

Oleg Ivashko January 10, 2021

I've changed the setting for comment sorting but it still the same (I used this guide - https://support.atlassian.com/jira-cloud-administration/docs/change-the-default-order-for-comments/) - no change. I googled and guys mentioned that I need to re-index the project.

Here @Nic Brough -Adaptavist- says that the system will do it on its own when this is needed. Well, I need this now. How can I make it happen then?

Like tor likes this
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
January 11, 2021

You don't, as discussed above.