Team-Managed project where project admin can create issue type but it can't be used to create issue?

Gail June 13, 2022

I have very minimal experience working with team-managed projects.    I created a new team-managed project from the content management template and made 3 people project admins.  

One of the project admins created a new issue type, but it is showing below the line in the left create issue type pane.   Her issue type cannot be selected when creating a new issue.  I created one just now, and it worked fine.   I am the overall site admin, but in that project I am a project admin just like the 3 people.

This person has regular jira software and Confluence product access.   Thanks

2 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Max Foerster - K15t
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 13, 2022

Hi @Gail

can it be that you are talking about a sub-task issue type? Because they cannot be selected when creating issues and have to be created from a parent issue. And that would explain why it is displayed "below the line" in the configuration.

Best, Max

Gail June 13, 2022

Thanks Max.   I did a little more research, and it was indeed created as a sub-task; however, she created it as "create issue type" - not by selecting sub-task.   There was no prompt asking if you wanted a sub-task type.   Really strange.   

As a work-around I suggested creating new issues as Task or Story then changing icon and name.

Thanks

Like Max Foerster - K15t likes this
Max Foerster - K15t
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 13, 2022