Epic Links for multiple projects displayed within Epic Link drop down list

m.fairholm December 16, 2021

Hi, I am pretty new to Jira admin, so please forgive me if this is a dumb question.

One of our customers has contacted me to say that when active in multiple projects within Jira Cloud instance and viewing Jira items associated with one project, project Epic Links for alternate projects are displayed within the Epic Links drop down list (in conjunction with the current project's Epic Links).

Steps

1. opens an issue in a project

2. and then in the details pane to the right clicks to the right of 'Epic Link' and a drop down menu appears of all the available epic items .  This list is showing epic items from other projects.

Does anyone know how to get the list to only show epics available in the current project?

Also, this is not happening in every project.

Many thanks

Max

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 16, 2021

It won't do that - the point of Epics is that they can be cross-project items, for gathering together larger pieces of work, or groups of stories.

Not sure what you mean by 'It won't do that".  I don't want it to do that but it is.

Are you saying that you are suppose to see epics from other projects you are a member of so you can like them to the current project?  So it is working as designed and the problem is with the project where she cannot see epics from other projects.

Thanks

Maxine

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 17, 2021

Yes, that's exactly what Epics are for - going across projects.

m.fairholm December 17, 2021