Need to understand the best strategy for changing domains

David Whitehurst March 3, 2019

I've been running Confluence on this license now for about 4 years as confluence.ciwise.com (CI Wise Inc is my business)

I now work for a large consulting firm and would like to change my 5.9.2 instance and database to use dlwhitehurst.com (personal domain). I would like to be able to call confluence.dlwhitehurst.com and continue using my Confluence.

Is it possible to use my current file and database backups to be able to do this? And, what is Atlassian's best advice for me to accomplish this goal?

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Daniel Eads
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
March 3, 2019

Hi David,

Before hitting your domain question, I just want to note that Confluence 5.9 is beyond its end-of-life from Atlassian Support. You're of course welcome to continue using that version as long as you want (Server licenses are perpetual!) but if for some reason you have an issue with the product itself, Atlassian Support will only provide help with upgrading to a currently-supported version. 6.14 is the most recent release - you can see info about upgrading Confluence here if you're interested in getting some of the newer features.

OK, now the actual question!

Just changing URLs in Confluence boils down to 4 things:

1. The Base URL in Confluence needs to be updated - see here for steps
  2. If you are using a reverse proxy such as Apache, nginx, or IIS, you'll need to update the proxyName property in the server.xml file. This is stored in <confluence's-install-directory>/conf/server.xml - try searching for your current URL (confluence.ciwise.com) in this file and replacing with your new URL. Note that Confluence will need to be restarted if you have to make changes in this file.