Limiting Users to Certain Spaces in Confluence?

I'm having trouble setting up confluence the way I'm trying to. I have different team types in my business, Accounting, Designers, Developers, etc.. and I want to limit each user to their own space so Designers can only see the Designers space, Developers can only see the Developers space, etc.. When I create a test user after assigning them to say the Designers group, as a Designer I can still see all the other spaces even though I have each space restricted to being visible by users of that group like Developers space restricted to users added to the Developers group but as a Designer, I can still see the Developers space.  Not only that, but when I log in as a Designer I can see the A list of all the spaces on the left side of the screen.  How do I get rid of that also so a Designer goes straight into the Designer space and can't see any of the other spaces?

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote

It sounds like you've opened up the permissions too widely.  Go to a space and look at the settings for permissions.  What groups and users are listed?  Check all three sections

Where is the permissions? This is what I have under Spaces -> Restrictions for Bookkeepers: https://cloudup.com/cC7MBrzEr3I

Restrictions are for restricting individual pages. You need to look at the space *permissions* first, as they control access to the whole space. Space Admin -> Permissions is the tab you need.

Got it the way I wanted thanks!

Suggest an answer

How to earn badges on the Atlassian Community

How to earn badges on the Atlassian Community

Badges are a great way to show off community activity, whether you’re a newbie or a Champion.

Learn more
Community showcase
Posted Monday in Confluence

Calling all marketing teams who use Confluence - we want to hear from you!