Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Confluence won't open

Gabriel Henton September 28, 2017

I'm trying to open http://localhost:8090/confluence and http://localhost:8090 and I get this:

This site can’t be reached

localhost refused to connect.

ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED. I'm going through the Dragon Slayer challenge, Stage 3. 

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Gabriel Henton September 29, 2017

Permissions! Though I'm a local administrator, I went all out and set all users to full control (not just modify, though I'm sure modify would have done the trick). I'm in!

0 votes
Shannon S
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
September 29, 2017

Hi, Gabriel!

Nice that you're using the Atlassian Dragon Quest! Let me help you out here. Now, the Dragon Quest is only meant to be used with the versions listed, so they're going to be quite out of date. It's meant to challenge you so there may be some missing pieces that you will need to discover. It's also not meant to be used when setting up a production Confluence instance, so if this is your purpose then you will want to make sure to follow the current documentation on installing Confluence.

Now, I'm not sure which version of Confluence you are installing, but have a look here at my conf/server.xml file from my 6.4.1 installation:

Screen Shot 2017-09-29 at 1.49.06 PM.png

You can see I changed the port 8090 to 8641, so make sure that you still have 8090 next to that connector port if that is the port you want to use. You also want to make sure nothing else is running on that port, or that you don't have another Confluence instance running on the 8000 port, if you had multiple set up.