Atlassian Heidi van Gennep shares how salt, fat, acid, and heat make up a weeknight staple

Our next Great Atlassian Bake Off feature is @Heidi van Gennep , who's here today to share her favorite Atlassian value, and how she applies the principles of iteration to cooking!

Tell us about your role and team at Atlassian! What’s your favorite Atlassian value, and why?

I’m a Customer Success Manager (within the CSI org) out of Austin, Texas. My favorite value is Don’t F*!$ the Customer.

As a CSM, so much of what we do is client advocacy and promoting magical experiences for our customers. DFTC is an additional source of recognition that what we do is meaningful and valuable, and for the organization to support that through DFTC is wonderful.

We heard you love to cook! How did you start learning, and what do you love most about it?

I grew up watching people in my life cook, but first took home economics in middle school and continued through high school, even though after two classes it was an elective. In my junior year, we even catered in the teachers lounge for lunches. You do, in fact, need entirely too much mayonnaise for the perfect chicken or tuna salad.

I love cooking more than baking because you iterate and do not need to follow the recipe exactly. Once you learn the basics: knife skills, mise en place, etc., it’s really hard to go wrong.

Samin Nosrat is right: salt, fat, acid, heat.

saltfat.png

Do you have a favorite recipe that you’d like to share?

I was inspired by this recipe for Smoked Chicken with Chimichurri, but tweaked it make it easy for weeknights and definitely NO need for a Traeger:

• Preheat oven to 400*
  • 4 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs (serves 2) (skin is fat!)
  • Italian style seasoning (as long as it has onion powder, garlic powder, some salt or pepper variation), sprinkled on both sides of the chicken, just to barely season. (salt!)