Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Personal Access Token for Bitbucket Cloud?

d745 November 23, 2017

Hello!

I can only find documentation for personal access token for Bitbucket Server: https://confluence.atlassian.com/bitbucketserver/personal-access-tokens-939515499.html

Is this functionality also available for Bitbucket Cloud?

Thank you

3 answers

3 votes
Ana Retamal
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 3, 2018

Hi David, apologies for the late response! I hope this answer will still help someone, so here it goes :)

Bitbucket Cloud does not have personal access tokens, but depending on what use you wanted to give them you can use App passwords or OAuth instead.

Would this suit you?

Cheers!

Ana

Raf January 20, 2018

What is the reason behind lack of *personal access tokens* feature in Bitbucket cloud? 

As a developer, I find access tokens very handy when you are executing Git commands (i.e. clone, push, pull, etc). I use Github's personal access token on daily basis and it's super convenient. 

I guess I will have to disable 2FA in my bitbucket :( 

Like Prakalathan likes this
Daniil Penkin
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
February 19, 2018

Hi @Raf, Bitbucket developer here.

I believe that App passwords that Ana referred to above are just what you're looking for. They were introduced exactly for the case when 2FA is turned on but some scoped access with basic auth is required.

Hope this helps.

Cheers!

Daniil

Like # people like this
Adam Wride
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 31, 2019

@Daniil Penkin - I'm curious why Atlassian didn't go with calling them "Personal access tokens"? :-)