Sometimes i write description and forget to save it. How to autosave description when i'm moving to another page or issue? I don't need save button
Hi @appsmobiliojivisata ,
It should already do this. Even if you close the tab and return to the issue later on, the changes you make should still be retained, and you might see something like this:
I see on you screenshot that they unsaved. So other users won't see your changes)
Hi @appsmobiliojivisata
No, other users will not see the unsaved changes, and this is a behavior/problem to watch for in the new issue view...
We recently had one user edit a field, click elsewhere on the page, and that resulted in unsaved changes. Those changes stuck around for over a month in the cloud...eventually when saved, it replaced subsequent edits by other users. Luckily we could see the changes in history and re-implement them.
One lesson: always select save or cancel for description changes on the new issue view.
Best regards,
Bill
@appsmobiliojivisata The functionality is the intended design, as you may start to make some notes but don't yet want them to be saved/published, so that is why there is this concept of the 'unsaved draft'. But do watch out for what @Bill Sheboy has described as this could definitely catch people out!
Personally, I'd like the option to just auto-save I can't tell you how many times myself or one of my teammates just forgot to save.
I understand some folks would like to draft up things and consciously hit save once they are ready. But it sure would be nice to have a configuration for people like me to just go ahead + auto save.
Hello @appsmobiliojivisata and other folks here,
We do have an open feature request for it here:
We suggest you add yourself as a watcher on that page to follow up on its progress and hit the “Vote for this issue” button to help raise its visibility within our Development and Product Management teams.It's highly appreciated if you can share how this is affected you or your team in the comment section of that feature request.
We edit a lot together in issues. And apart from not saving, another problem permanently occurs: User A opens and edits an issue, user B opens it too (user A has neither saved or closed anything), user A saves and closes, user B (who didnt even see user A's additions) saves and closes and deletes what user A had added. Embarrasing. Issues should either be blocked for editing (viewing is fine) when someone else is editing it. Or be editable by multiple users (that would we super great
Plus autosave, of course.
Hi @Matthias Weidner -- Welcome to the Atlassian Community!
There is another symptom to watch for: unsaved draft changes.
We had a user make changes to an issue's Description, edit the field without saving, and move on to other things. Weeks later...they edited the issue again, saving their changes and walking over prior edits. There is now a indicator for "unsaved changes", although it is not highly visible, IMHO, as only the person with the unsaved changes can see the prompt.
Kind regards,Bill
The problem ith this is that the "unsaved changes" to right of "Description" in the UI is only visible on the PC the ticket was created on.If I crate a ticket, and edit it's description but don't save at home, I can't see the un-saved edits when I open same ticket at work.
This topic has been locked because the thread has become a bit dated. If you’d like to keep the conversation going or have additional questions, we encourage you to start a new topic. You can read more about necro posting (“raising threads from the dead”) in our Community Guidelines.Thanks!
It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.