Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Automation to move a project to next assignee within a list of project issues

Gwen Coveny October 15, 2023

Hi, JWM Newbie here. I'm looking to create an automation for a creative test project in JWM.

After an issue is moved to the next state on the Board, I'd like the assignee of the next sequential task in the list of project issues to be notified. For example, Issue #1 in my test project is a client kickoff meeting assigned to Jane. Issue #2 is creation of a draft PowerPoint, assigned to Bill, to be started after Jane completes Step 1.
1. Jane completes her task and moves her issue within the Board
2. Is there an automation option to email Bill (who was preassigned to step 2) that it's in his queue to act upon? 

Thanks!

1 answer

Suggest an answer

1 vote
Mitul Panchal
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
October 16, 2023

Hi @Gwen Coveny , thanks for posting the question! A very valid scenario. I have tried to put a skeleton that may help you get started below. You can put in conditions such as only IF "Jane" transitions an Issue to "Done" or that email Bill only IF the Issue was transitioned to Done for a particular custom field such as Team = Marketing or IF Linked Issue is each other. You might have to dig through the Automation guide for the specific variables and rules but I'm sure this should get you a starting point!