Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trello consumes high CPU in Safari

Administrator September 16, 2020

Hi,

I'm a web developer and using Trello for everyday tasks, thank you for such a great product.

2 days ago Trello started to consume lots of CPU in my favorite browser, Safari 13.1.2. There's no such issue in Chrome.

No other tabs are open. No intensive usage of cards. Does not matter which board is currently open. And I have Macbook Pro 2019 with 2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9.

I'm also having troubles with uploading images in cards. Maybe these issues are related.

Screen Shot 2020-09-17 at 8.59.53 AM.pngScreen Shot 2020-09-17 at 9.00.05 AM.png

1 answer

0 votes
Michael Pryor
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
September 17, 2020

Have you tried to see if you can reproduce in Safari Private mode?

dominik.stypula December 15, 2021

@Michael Pryor 

Hi, I'm a web developer.
In the Chrome's Task Manager - Trello Board tab uses > 85% of the CPU.

I disabled ALL my extensions before the test. I'm just logged in to my Google Account.

Agree on that if you switch to Incognito Mode the problem does not exist.
But does that mean we have to use Incognito Mode to use the Trello?

I didn't see that problem in the other javascript-rich applications like Gmail, Google Sheets etc.

FYI: Problem doesn't exist if task is opened in modal, only if the trello board is opened, and tab is active.

Michael Pryor
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
December 15, 2021

You can try to delete your cookies and cache but the only difference between incognito mode and regular is 

- no prior cookies or cache

- no extensions enabled

If you continue to get odd behavior after resetting cookies and cache and you have all extensions disabled then my guess would be there is still an extension enabled.