How Trello Keeps Me Sane With Holiday Gift-Giving

Most people have Christmas traditions related to putting up trees/decorations or going caroling or baking cookies with family and friends. One of my Christmas traditions revolves around the creation of a couple of Trello boards, as that is what officially kicks off the season. 

You might think it's too soon to be writing about Christmas, but let me tell you - just blink and it's going to be here. In fact, the Danes kick off their Christmas season the first Friday in November. Stay vigilant, it's coming!

If I want to be ready, I need my Trello boards. So here's a handy write up of the main ways I use Trello to manage the holidays and make them as stress-free as possible, specifically related to shopping and gift-giving. 

The Christmas Shopping List

My most useful board is my Christmas Shopping List where I keep track of all the gift-buying I need to do. I've been doing this for a couple of years, and now I don't know how I ever used anything else. 

Each card is a person I need to shop for and the board flows linearly with lists for each stage of the process:

• People who need a gift
  • People who have been partially purchased (I like giving multiple gifts :) )
  • People who I am done shopping for
  • People whose gifts are wrapped and ready to be delivered

image.png

It's an easy way to figure out exactly what I still need to do for my Christmas shopping. 

For each card, I use the comments and description or attachments to jot down any ideas I have about what to get that person, along with any other notes. This is a helpful way to collaborate with my husband who is not much of a shopper, but occasionally offers useful feedback on things to get his family. He can easily go in and add ideas to a card for what to get a person, and then I can take action and make it happen.