clone got no files

Paul Levin September 18, 2015

Please help.  I am brand new to git and Sourcetree, and can not seem to get past the starting gate.  I have 2 company private git servers that I just setup.  Each has its own ssh key in order to access the server.  I have configured an ssh config file on my mac for the 2 servers.  Using the git command line I had created a new repository containing 2 files on one of the servers. I can now use the git command line to clone that repository to a new folder on my mac, using the alias in the ssh config file. 

Now to use Sourctree.  I click on New Repository, and select clone from url.  I put in the git path into the source url and select a destination.  Sourcetree says my path is a valid git repository.  I click Clone and a second later a directory named the same as my repository is created in the destination directory I specified. But the 2 files ARE NOT THERE! 

What am I doing wrong???  Some very detailed step-by-step instructions would be helpful please.

4 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Seth
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 21, 2015

Does SourceTree have a branch checked out after the clone? Could you post a screenshot of SourceTree's log view? (At least the graph and the branch list to the left of the graph)

Paul Levin September 21, 2015

Yes, I'll get that posted shortly.