Python error adding new repository

Graham Borland October 6, 2011

I'm new to Sourcetree, and I'm trying to open up an existing Mercurial repository. In the main window, I get this error message:

env: python: No such file or directory

I do have Python installed and working. Why is Sourcetree not finding it?

grahamb@pickle:~/Work/repo/dev$ which python
/usr/bin/python
grahamb@pickle:~/Work/repo/dev$ which env
/usr/bin/env
grahamb@pickle:~/Work/repo/dev$ env python
Python 2.6.1 (r261:67515, Aug  2 2010, 20:10:18) 
[GCC 4.2.1 (Apple Inc. build 5646)] on darwin
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.

Screenshot

4 answers

1 accepted

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

0 votes
Answer accepted
Graham Borland October 10, 2011

Problem solved! I had in the dim and distant past, installed an Environment Variables plugin to the System Preferences tool. I hadn't realised that adding to my PATH in here was a bad idea. (It edits my environment.plist file, which is apparently where GUI apps get their environment settings from.)

I had also set the path correctly in my .bash_profile, which is why 'env' and 'python' worked fine in the terminal.

Solved by removing the PATH entry from environment.plist. Sourcetree now runs just fine without my local edits.

stevestreeting
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 10, 2011

Awesome, that explains everything. Thanks for letting us know!

akash.keshari September 24, 2020

@Graham Borland1  @stevestreeting Can you elaborate this answer please as I am not getting any environment.plist file.

I am using Mac OS Catalina 10.15.4 and I am having problems with source tree as I am getting the same error as you.