Alerting myself of uncommitted changes

Evan Carter May 10, 2014

I've just set up SourceTree and BitBucket (with Mercurial) so that I can track revisions of my personal scripts and libraries and access them from other machines on occasion. I'm concerned about forgetting to commit changes I make, so I'd like to set up a cron job (or actually, a launchd job, since I'm using a Mac) to check for uncommitted changes and alert me if there are any. I'm new to cloud source control, but I think what I want is to run the equivalent of "hg diff". My working copy will always be in the same place. I ran "Install command line tools" in SourceTree but as far as I can tell that only gave me a tool called stree that serves a different purpose. What should I do? Should I install regular command line Mercurial (looks like from http://mercurial.berkwood.com/) or will that installation fight with SourceTree?

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Timothy
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 10, 2014

You can choose which hg binaries you want to use in SourceTree preference which means you can use both binaries at the same time.

I used this (http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/7486/cronnix) to run bash scripts. You could create your own scripts and check if there are any files that are not changed:

• hg diff -r START -r END

You can test out the various scenarios, grep the output and do something with it (http://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/57412/how-can-i-trigger-a-notification-center-notification-from-an-applescript-or-shel)

Evan Carter May 10, 2014

Thank you, Timothy. Am I right that SourceTree's embedded Mercurial is not accessible (e.g., from the command line)?

Timothy
Rising Star
Rising Star