Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WAGILE

david_lewis April 18, 2021

Hi,  I am new to JIRA but have been a project manager for over 20 years.  I am looking to use JIRA to deliver an array of different project types.  Some will be very waterfall, and some will be dev or configuration pieces. I am trying to ensure we use a single tool to track and deliver projects across the organisation. 

Are there any guides, book, resources....etc that can explain how to use JIRA to manage a range of project types, or even a hybrid like WAGILE.

There are a couple of questions around dependency management, that I haven't been able to bottom out with JIRA. I think part of my problem is I am used to visualising the entire project, and not seeing all the dependencies makes me feel uncomfortable and not in control.

2 answers

1 accepted

Suggest an answer

4 votes
Answer accepted
MA April 18, 2021

Hi David,

Welcome.

At its core Jira is a platform to create issues/tasks and subtasks under a project (originally it was an issue tracking system for software development).  Jira has a lot of flexibility due to the ability to customise through plugins, workflow, custom fields, screens etc.

I currently use Jira for project management within my organisation.  The main questions that you probably want to ask yourself are:

1. What level of project management do you want to apply over your projects and teams?
  2. What information to you want to show to your stakeholders and governance committees?
  3. How do you want your project teams to operate with Jira (self managed or tightly managed)?