Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3 Early Career Lessons from my Atlassian Summer Internship

My name is Sarah, and I was a summer 2023 business analyst intern at Atlassian. This summer was a great career experience for me—by which I mean a great learning experience filled with surprises. I'm a senior this year at Rice, and I have to admit, I didn't originally plan on a career in tech. But this summer taught me three things that really surprised me:

IMG_9011.jpg

1. Tech is Filled with a Variety of Opportunities for New Grads

I have a confession.…I don’t know how to code. But that's okay. There is a common misconception that people in tech jobs must have a technical background. I too had this misconception when I began recruiting for intern roles during my junior year of college. The great thing about Atlassian, and other technology companies, is the wide range of interesting roles available for new graduates and college students to explore the tech industry, regardless of their background. I worked alongside product marketing, product management, program management, engineering interns and more! Students represent the future, and I feel so grateful to work for a company that acknowledges the distinctive perspectives that fresh graduates and students can offer, as well as their potential to grow.

1. Remote Work Does Not Mean Lonely Work

As a remote intern in the greater Philadelphia area (no, it’s not always sunny here!), it’s been amazing to collaborate with people from across the country and world as Atlassian is a remote-first workspace. Working remotely this summer has taught me a lot about time management, the importance of reaching out to coworkers just to ask how they are doing, and always checking the time-zone on an invite. All in all, I learned that remote work does not take away from community behind the work.

1. Collaboration is 🔑