Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

4 steps for enabling continuous discovery with customer interviews

Tony Jones
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
May 13, 2024

Hi, I’m Tony Jones, and I’m a designer on Atlassian’s Growth team! In the first part of this series my teammate, Jet, talked about the 5 continuous discovery best practices my team implemented. In this article, I’ll dive into how we schedule, structure and report out on customer interviews to enable continuous discovery.

What is continuous discovery?

Glad you asked. Continuous discovery is about including customers throughout your decision-making process. The idea is that regularly hearing their stories will help you identify new opportunities, and close the gap between how you think your products are used and how your customers actually use them.

It’s nothing new. Marty Cagan at SVPG first started writing about continuous discovery more than 10 years ago, and we’ve been talking about it at Atlassian for a while too.

My team has found regularly chatting with customers to be one of the best parts of our week, and this article will walk you through how we set it up, because with a bit of a steer it can be easy and super valuable.

Why speak to customers every week?

In the past, we aimed to do customer research as part of discovery, and again when measuring impact to understand why we saw the results we did. But in reality, this was hard to fit in, and it meant we rarely had input from customers while we were choosing a hypothesis and designing the solution.

It can be hard to imagine fitting in weekly customer conversations, I procrastinated on it for months, but a combination of three things made us try it:

✅ We could minimize the number of decisions we made without customer input

🔮 We could go beyond ideation sessions and identify new opportunities and pain points