Running Stash as a Service

Hello,

I'm quite new to stash so this may sound like a stupid question. :-)

I have recently installed Stash 2.12.3 and have run through the processs to install this as a Windows service. However, whenever i restart the server the service stops and Stash fails to start, so i have to go through the process of running the stop_stash then the start_stash batch files. Then stash opens fine and the windows service then stops (its set to automatic)

I am running the windows service as an admin with the relevanr rights. I have also instsalled the service without any issue and changed the relevant dll's to the 64 bit version. I don't belive its a Java issue as the applicatoon starts when the batch file is run and the env variable is set.

Any ideas/advice wouyld be appreciated

Many Thanks

Chris

4 answers

This widget could not be displayed.

Hi there,

Do you have a dedicate user to start Stash service?

Does this user has rights to read/write Stash_Home folder?

You can check the permissions right clicking in the service name and them properties.

There you can set the user who runs the service.

Please give it a try and let me know how it goes.

Also, please check if all steps mentioned on this document were followed:

https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/STASH/Running+Stash+as+a+Windows+service

Regards,

Celso Yoshioka

Hi Chris,

I had to install the Java JDK (which installs the JRE), and I did so on the C:\Java folder level so there were no space in path issues.

I also set the Stash service to delay start (usually 2 minutes) to allow all services such as MySQL to complete startup.

I found that I had to have system level environment variables for both JAVA_HOME and JAVA_JRE set as listed below in my install notes below.

I also found that the MySQL connector needs to be in a different folder when Stash is started as a service:

https://answers.atlassian.com/questions/140373/stash-as-service-fails-to-find-mysql-driver