Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to create multiple plans for multiple projects

Hema May 14, 2019

Hi,

I am new with Bamboo. I am trying to create multiple plans for multiple projects using java spec and want to pass dynamic values to java spec like application name, repo link, bamboo server url. Can anybody help me on this how to achieve this and project structure in bitbucket.

3 answers

0 votes
Jimmy Seddon
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 16, 2019

Hi @Hema,

First, I do not claim to be any sort of expert in how to properly structure a java project, so I can share what I did but I'm sure there are better ways out there.

Becuase I setup a java project for our specs that uses Bamboo to build and deploy the specs project, I chose not to use a properties file but instead to pass in command line arguments that are using bamboo variables.

From there I have a class that runs the main method and all it is responsible for doing is generating all of the build plan objects and then running the publish command to create new or update existing if that same plan has already been deployed to the server.

Next from there I have a Build plan class (technically two as we are changing the structure in our projects from one standard set to another)

This class has a few fields that get populated when it is called in the main method by the constructor and it has a number of methods (one for each type of task that will exist in the plan).  I then create all the tasks calling the methods that create the various types of tasks and passing in the relevant information the task needs (This is where I used the "View Plan as Java Specs" action when editing an existing plan to have a template of what it is expecting so I knew the structure I needed to build.