Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How Do I Configure A Remote Agent to Run Jobs On Another Server

Scott A_ Chase March 28, 2023

I am just getting started as a system administrator helping our Bamboo users and myself configure remote agents on a single node Bamboo Data Center instance.  We have the remote agent installed and configured on one Bamboo server (server1) and want to run jobs/builds on a different Bamboo server (server2).  Is that possible and if so how?

1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Eduardo Alvarenga
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
March 29, 2023

Hello @Scott A_ Chase

Though not recommended, Bamboo still allows Local Agents to run on the same Bamboo server. Local agents will be bound to their Bamboo application and not serve other Bamboo instances. Local Agents share the same JVM resources as the main Bamboo application, which may impact Bamboo's ability to process heavy transactions, so use it cautiously.

Local agents have been deprecated and will be discontinued in the long run. So we recommend you plan your configuration and focus on Remote or Elastic Agents.

Considering you have spare CPU and memory, you can install multiple remote agents on the same host by assigning different -Dbamboo.home properties values to the installer and connect them to the same or even different Bamboo server(s).

You can also install a remote agent on the same server that runs the Bamboo application; that agent will not share the same resources as the JVM that runs Bamboo, so be mindful about how you allocate the CPU and memory resources and don't end up causing any resource contention due to heavy loads that may impact the application.

Thank you,

Eduardo Alvarenga
Atlassian Support APAC

--please don't forget to Accept the answer if the reply is helpful-- 

Scott A_ Chase March 29, 2023

Eduardo,