Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create Confluence search plugin

Deleted user February 23, 2016

I have created a custom search plugin for Confluence through the Atlassian Java SDK and it works through a macro which has an input box with the search as its action. However, I now want this search to instead replace the Confluence search rather than having to have a second search box on a page. Is this possible and if so, how do I go about doing it? Thanks!

1 answer

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

3 votes
Adrien Ragot 2
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 23, 2016

Hi, I have some experience with the code of Confluence:

• There are several web-sections (plugin points) in the top bar so you can certainly add your search box next to the Confluence Search;
  • If there is no web-sections for this location in the top bar, you can always use js to position your box, even if that's an ugly hack.
  • You can inject a CSS in every page to hide the Confluence search box.
  • I don't think there's any plugin point to replace all or parts of the Confluence search. The only plugin points are to extend the search index, which lets people use the Confluence search with more properties.

How you would do:

• Read this page to find the section where you want to add your plugin: https://developer.atlassian.com/confdev/confluence-plugin-guide/confluence-plugin-module-types/web-ui-modules