cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Introducing Agile to a team with no prior experience of it

GMcGann
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
December 17, 2023

Hi everyone,

I am a computer science graduate student at the University of Oxford, currently researching Agile methodologies. I'm also a staffer at the UN Dept. of Economics working in a scrum team. 

In my research, I’m exploring the best approach to introduce teams to Agile when they have no previous exposure to it. I would appreciate your insights on two specific strategies:

Option 1: Introduce Agile theory comprehensively from the outset, ensuring a solid foundation in Agile principles and practices.

Option 2: Introduce Agile theory gradually, aligning with the immediate needs and tasks of the team.

Which approach do you find more effective in your experience? Your advice will be invaluable for my research, and I'm interested in hearing about your experiences and rationale for choosing one approach over the other. 

If you're interested in my research or just want to connect, feel free to reach out to me at gregory.mcgann@kellogg.ox.ac.uk 

4 answers

Suggest an answer

1 vote
Ron Skyberg December 18, 2023

Option 2:Introduce Agile theory gradually, aligning with the immediate needs and tasks of the team.