Difference between the private and share workspaces. How to know current one is private or shared. how to migrate the private to shared one?
Hi @shamil707
Private (personal) workspaces are deprecated and are no longer able to be created when you sign up for a new workspace, team (shared) workspaces are now the only type of workspace that may be created. More information regarding the difference between these two workspace types may be found in our documentation below:
Users do not directly login to a shared workspace as there is no unique email address associated with shared workspaces, however, a team workspace allows multiple administrators with full control. If the data resides against a workspace that matches your username, this is usually a clear indicator that it is a personal workspace.
I have checked your access and can see that there are no repositories associated with the personal workspace that is associated with the email address you have used to raise this community ticket, therefore you do not need to do any personal > team repository migration. If you ever need to in future, we have a guide for this below:
Hope this helps.
Cheers!
- Ben (Bitbucket Cloud Support)
Hi Ben,Thanks for the clarification.I have below doubts.. Is Shared and teams are same.?i can login to the account and i can create workspace. is it team workspace by default? when i invite or give access to dev (project and repo), is it i am giving access or inviting him the workspace which is associated with project or repo..Sorry if it is stupid doubt is it possible to have repo or project without a workspace?
if i delete my work space is that all the repo or porject associated with it will be deleted and what is the meaning of "Keep this workspace private" PFA screenshot
There are no stupid doubts or questions!
A team workspace is also commonly referred to as a shared workspace, so they are the same thing.
When creating a new workspace - this will always be a team workspace, you can no longer create a personal workspace.
Workspaces consist of users, these users will have access to different projects/repositories. So when you invite someone to a workspace - they become a user of that workspace and will have access to whatever project/repository that you have invited them to.
You cannot have projects/repositories without a workspace, deleting a workspace will delete all data that is associated with that workspace, this cannot be recovered and is a permanent action.
The privacy tickbox you have mentioned refers to the privacy of the workspace. "Keep this workspace private" simply means that only users who have been invited to the workspace will be able to access that workspace - anyone who is not a user will get a 404 Error message in their browser and will not be able to see anything at all that is related to that workspace.
It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.