Users in JA are created through the Integrated Connector or through manual processes (manual process may include either a single user creation, upload of user information or through API functions).
Users in JA can only be deactivated through the manual processes (not through the Integrated Connector). Deactivated users can be viewed/edited in the same location in Align (Administration → People) however in order to perform any actions with a deactivated user on the UI the admin will need to use a filter for “Deactivated” = Yes.
Impacts
System Role
-
The system role is not impacted by the activity of deactivation.
-
Toggles for the system role remain unchanged.
-
If/When reactivated their system role is kept intact.
- Note: If the system role has been deleted prior to reactivation any deactivated user that users role will revert to the Default system role.
Licenses
- Deactivated users are not included in the licenses counts, this includes both Integrated Users as well as full license users.
- Refer to Jira Align users: Full VS Integrated for more information regarding the difference between a Full (licensed) user and an Integrated User.
Team Membership
-
Align supports historical data, understanding that people/work/time are finite and deactivation of a user does not negatively impact any of the internal reporting.
-
This includes any display/view that would be historical by a person, while the deactivated user cannot be selected in any space where a user would need to be selected their data is not negatively impacted by deactivation.
Functionality
-
Once a user is deactivated they will be unable to take any actions in Align (as they are denied log-in abilities).
-
If/when a deactivated user is reactivated they regain all functions they had prior to deactivation.
-
Where either System Role Toggles, Team Active (Yes/No), and/or Jira Align functionality has changed (post deactivation) are all applied to the user based upon those settings at the time of reactivation.
Examples of Functionality
-
If the System Role the user was in at the time of Deactivation had the ability to Delete Jira Epics and prior to their Reactivation the same System Role had the ability to Delete Jira Epics removed; then the user (upon reactivation) would not have the ability to Delete Jira Epics.
- Likewise, if the System Role did not have the ability to Delete Jira Epics and prior to their Reactivation the same System Role now does have the ability to Delete Jira Epics; then the user (upon reactivation) would have the ability to Delete Jira Epics.
-
If the user was a member of Team Avengers at the time of Deactivation and prior to Reactivation Team Avengers is toggled to Active = No then upon Reactivation while they would be a member of the team they would be unable to make updates (just like other active users).
Jira