Jira Data Center + SAML + Asure AD

Michael Johnston August 8, 2022

Does anyone have a good guide that I could use to connect our Jira Data Center to our Asure AD via SAML?  I'm connected to AD and able to pull users and groups.  My problem is that I cannot find the answers for some of the fields in the Add new configuration wizard or they're not lining up with what's being provided with the JIRA SAML SSO by Microsoft plugin in Azure.  For example, where would I find my Single sign-on issuer and Identity provider single sign-on URL?  Can I use the default username mapping of {NameID} as given in the example below the field? 

Sorry if this is a fundamental question.  Newbie here and haven't done anything with SAML before. :)

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Peter DeWitt
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
August 8, 2022

@Michael Johnston Those will be nuanced depending on your IdP. If you haven't seen it yet, here is an Atlassian document that provides more detailed information on some of those items you listed above.

https://confluence.atlassian.com/adminjiraserver/saml-sso-for-jira-data-center-applications-938847031.html

I am sure you have already seen this but for others who haven't, MS actually has a really good document for this.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/active-directory/saas-apps/jiramicrosoft-tutorial

For the {NameID} variable, I think its something like UserPrincipleName for AD

Michael Johnston August 9, 2022

Thank you very much for the document!  I had found it before, but I glanced through it and skipped the part about installing the Azure add-on.   I was using the default SSO that comes built into Jira.  As soon as I added that, everything lined up. 

I will say that another thing that tripped me up was the server.xml file not having secure="true" in the Catalina section.