Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why custom field is not required?

Eleni Theodoridou February 7, 2018

Hi guys,

I am new to Jira Service Desk. I am the administrator and I have created some custom fields and add them to screens. When I am trying to make that fields required in the request, although I change the drop down to Yes and press Update button, when I open the request form the field says (optional) (see attached). Am I missing something?

Please advice,

EleniCapture.PNGCapture1.PNG

2 answers

1 vote
Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 9, 2018

@Eleni Theodoridou, cloud or server version? Certainly the behavior is not correct. I understand why @Brittany Wispell asked the "update" question as your screen shot would indicate that you did not. If you still have "Update" showing to the Actions column of the field then please click it (again) and ensure it disappears. If you see something like below and are still seeing the fields as optional then you may wish to reach out to Atlassian Support.

req_fields.png

Brittany Wispell
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 9, 2018

@Jack Brickey It's cloud version. Know of any bugs that might cause this? 

Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
February 9, 2018

i did a quick search and did not find one listed. while it is certainly possible that there is a bug it would surprise me to be honest. works fine for me in cloud. regardless i would contact atlassian if you believe you have done things correctly.

Eleni Theodoridou February 9, 2018

Hi guys,