It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Do i need to physically move my project files to my repo or does it look at other directories?

I am new to bitbucket / git.  So i guess here is a newbie question thats not answered in the basic info i have been absorbing so far.....

I have been working on projects to date without using git version control.

Now i am setting it up and starting the basic steps and have cloned a repo locally, for which i am using the command line rather than Sourcetree.

I want to know whether i have to move my original project files over to my new Repo folder that i created and work on them from there? Or whether the repo can look to other directories instead?  It will help me link how everything all links together.

Thanks in advance...

1 answer

0 votes

Hi Sue,

It sounds like you’re looking to push some existing (non-gitversioned) code to Bitbucket. If that’s the case, this page (https://confluence.atlassian.com/bitbucketserver/importing-code-from-an-existing-project-776640909.html) should be handy. It runs you through how to initialize a folder as a git repository, then how to tell it where your new Bitbucket repository is on the server and push your first commit.

CCM

Huge thank you :)  On the case

Suggest an answer

Community showcase
Published in Agile

Webinar: Dean Leffingwell and Steve Elliot present on SAFe 5.0, come ask Dean and Steve questions!

...steemed Steve Elliot (head of product for Jira Align). Agenda: What’s new or changed in SAFe 5.0: Introduction of OKRs Essential SAFe How to achieve true business a...

120 views 0 1
Read article

Community Events

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find an event

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Unfortunately there are no Community Events near you at the moment.

Host an event