Improvements to the Confluence Cloud editor

Hi everyone,

My name's Phil and I’m a product manager on Confluence Cloud.

Our long-term mission is to help you create beautiful content with ease in both Confluence desktop and mobile, in a stable and predictable way.

This is an ongoing journey, but I wanted to share an update about changes we're making to the editing experience.

One challenge that our customers have in creating beautiful content is that pages are really wide — they take up the entire width of your browser. Wide pages are harder to read and go against best practices for legibility.

To help with this, today we're rolling out a new fixed-width layout that will have a more readable line-length. We're excited to see how everyone uses it. 

single-column-fixed-width-layout-resized.png

We're also rolling out a change to tables to help with mobile long-term.

Currently in Confluence Cloud, you can place tables inside lists, block quotes, and other tables, we call these “nested tables”. Nested tables make pages harder to read, especially on mobile devices. Less than 1% of pages have these nested tables showing there are other ways to get the message across.

As we look to help you make beautiful content for all devices, we are disabling the ability to create new nested tables. Your existing pages with nested tables are safe and you'll still be able to modify these existing nested tables (edit cells, add/remove rows/columns, etc). You just won't be able to create new ones.

Please let us know if you have any use cases for which this functionality is integral, and we will try to find a solution for you.

Cheers,
Phil

18 comments

Andy Webb December 19, 2017

I was directed to this page by Lucas Martins who says:

"Block level indentation will be no longer available for Confluence Cloud Editor"