How do i allow JIRA administrators to edit closed issues without reopening them?

Kyle
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 24, 2012

As a project manager, I will be the project lead in JIRA naturually, also owns administrative permissions to the JIRA project I manage.

Say I have a group of 15 developers, as their project manager, I normally have to correct Fixed version/s on their closed issues.

How can I do this easily?

I have played abit with the workflow, which we're currently using the default JIRA workflow and with the property of Closed state, jira.issue.editable set to true, would only allow all closed issues to be editable by whoever has the permission to do so.

How can I only allow project Administrators/leads to be able to edit closed issues in a bulk?

I want to use this property key, {{jira.permission.edit.projectrole}} but i do not know what is the right value for project lead role. Help. Thanks.

Reference:

http://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA/Workflow+Properties

http://docs.atlassian.com/software/jira/docs/api/latest/com/atlassian/jira/security/WorkflowBasedPermissionManager.html

4 answers

1 accepted

9 votes
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 24, 2012

You can't. That "prevent edit on closed issues" flag is absolute, there's no way to bypass it or make it more clever.

I usually add a transition to the "closed" status - it should go back to closed, go through a screen which includes the fields you want to edit, and with a condition on it like "only project leads and system administrators"

Kyle
Rising Star
Rising Star