Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Jira fails to start

Raja Choudhary March 25, 2012

Hi, I am totally new to JIRA so please parden me for basic questions and add detailed answers if yu could. We have JIRA (v4.3.4#620-r152668) in production. I am tasked to build a custom plugin/module to make some changes. I wanted to setup my local JIRA instance with exact same version so that I can make changes locally first. I am struglling in setting up the same instance.

Steps I followed:

1) I downloaded & installed atlassian-plugin-sdk-3.8 in local box.
2) I have created Plugin skeleton for eclipse and my pom.xml has this entry.

<properties>
<jira.version>4.4.1</jira.version>
<jira.data.version>4.4</jira.data.version>
<amps.version>3.8</amps.version>
</properties>

JIRA starts with the above config successfully but our JIRA version in production is :(v4.3.4#620-r152668) so I went ahead and changed the pom.xml file as below.

<properties>
<jira.version>4.3.4</jira.version>
<jira.data.version>4.3.4</jira.data.version>
<amps.version>3.8</amps.version>
</properties>

When I execute (atlas-run) to start the local JIRA instance, it does not start due to mismatch in config ( I changed jira version from 4.4.1 to 4.3.4)

Questions:

1) Can I start module development using 4.4.1 jira version even though I have 4.3.4 in production? Will my plugin work in my production environment?
2) If answer to question number is NO then how should I go about having the right jira version locally?
3) The change I am tasked with is to add a new column (Due Date) while displaying the issue list. What type of module should I pick to develop? Any links to similar development questions/activities?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Here is the error message when JIRA fails to start due to version mismatch: