Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why commits to branch trigger build on master (and not branch)?

Felipe Reis
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 20, 2013

Hi!

I'm using Bamboo+Bitbucket (git repo). I have a project with the master branch and a development branch called PII-25.

I have configured Bamboo to automatically detect new branches. So, when I created PII-25, Bamboo has received the message and successfully created a new build plan for that branch.

However, whenever I commit a change on branch PII-25 Bamboo triggers a build on the master plan, not on the PII-25 plan as expected.

Thanks!

6 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Felipe Reis
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 24, 2013

After Piotr clarified the issue for me, I was able to find a thread describing the same problem I was facing with a viable workaround.

The solution is to change the build trigger to "Polling the repository for changes".

Here is the thread that helped me: https://answers.atlassian.com/questions/135958/branch-specific-build-triggers

Thanks Piotr!

PiotrA
Rising Star
Rising Star
March 24, 2013

:) you were faster than me

baratrion November 24, 2016

I'm having the same problem. So, the only option I have is to enable polling instead of remote triggering?

0 votes
PiotrA
Rising Star
Rising Star
March 24, 2013

Is it possible to configure Bamboo+Bitbucket in a way that commits trigger builds on different plans, according to the branch on which the commit was made?