Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Waterfall Projects

Kevin Dow May 1, 2024

Hey, everyone,

I'm new to the group. I'm a veteran of Jira, but I'm currently working with a new company. I'm starting again to set up Jira to handle waterfall projects in a similar way to what I set up a decade ago, and looking for insights on how I can update my processes to sync with new ways of working, facilitated by Jira.

I'm looking forward to some good discussions.

2 comments

Comment

Anne Saunders
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 1, 2024

We're a client-facing dev shop, and most of our clients distrust agile methodologies (they want to know up front what they're planning to pay for!) so we work in a very waterfall style.

I prep our projects in a proprietary application that spits out a CSV that we import into Jira. All of the issues with estimates, assignees, due dates, etc - they're all (ok, mostly) there from day 1. We let project teams create their own sub-tasks to further decompose work on an ad hoc basis, but these sub-tasks pull time from their parent Tasks, so there's no add-on estimation (unless a client agrees to contractual adjustments.)

There's no great, granular burndown or burnup reporting in Jira since we're not using sprints or story points (just Epics, Tasks, and Sub-tasks with discrete hours estimates on the tasks.)

We do like the Time Tracking Report, though. Since we don't use the Jira "Releases" to monitor our software versioning, our operations team has co-opted them to manage the issues worked on under a given client agreement, which gives us a convenient filter for JQL queries and in-project Reports.

Like Humashankar VJ likes this
Humashankar VJ
Rising Star
Rising Star