Source tree won't forget user ID/ssh key

configman June 20, 2013

I'm just getting started with Source Tree and was thinking it was a pretty good client until I ran into this problem for which there doesn't appear to be a similar question already;

I'm setting up a new git server using ssh access with gitolite as the server side management tool. I managed to create the gitolite-admin repo, check it out using the gitolite admin users key to my own machine. i then made what I thikn is a mistake; I added my personal ssh key (public) with the name id_rsa and also added this key to source tree.

now when I try to pull from the remote repo (or do anything else with it) I get an error message saying that access is denied to id_rsa. I've removed the local repository for the gitolite-admin by asking source tree to remove the book mark and the disk files. I;ve removed all the ssh keys from the source tree options page but still everytime i try to clone the gitolite-admin repository I get a failure message that says access is denied to the id-rsa user.

How does one get source tree to use the correct key for access to the repository and forget the old user id and key? More generally, what is the process for management of multiple user IDs in source tree?

Thanks

Damon jebb

3 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
stevestreeting
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 20, 2013

The location of id_rsa for the purposes of actually performing authentication is actually the domain of ssh (OpenSSH in this case - I assume you're talking about the Mac version).