Summit Through the Years - Part 1

This article is part of a multi-part series.  Also see:

I've attended Atlassian Summit since 2013 and as a frequent attendee, I'm always excited to see what's new each year. Each Summit is totally different.  Over the years the venues have changed, the focus, content and activities have changed, and most of all I've changed.  Join me as I recap my Summit journey.

The Beginning

I started using JIRA and Confluence in 2011.  By 2013, I was a JIRA Admin and had no idea what I was doing!  I convinced my company to send me to Summit, so I could learn more about the products. I didn’t know it then, but this first conference would change my career path entirely.

This is where I learned about the Atlassian User Group program.  I wanted to understand JIRA and networking with my local peers was the way to do it.  I marched up to the AUG booth to ask about events in my area. Unfortunately, there were none.  I immediately volunteered to start a user group.

Summit 2013

October 1-3, 2013 – San Francisco, CA

IMG_20131002_112225-300x225

Focus:  Team.  “Supercharge your team – Unleash the full power of Atlassian products through training and proven best practices to make every member of your team a power Atlassian user.”

Attendees:  1,800 attendees from 40+ countries.  A 50% increase from the previous year.

Content:  Over 40 breakout sessions, and 40 speakers including presenters from leading companies like: Twitter, Symantec, Pandora, Netflix, Orbitz, NASA, Fortune Magazine, and Turner Broadcasting.

Major Announcements:  JIRA Service Desk and Confluence Knowledge Base are available for Download (now called Server) and OnDemand (now called Cloud).  HipChat reached 1 billion messages sent.  HipChat Server and Confluence Questions are in beta.  Atlassian Connect introduced new ways to build add-ons.s2013.png