Proper way to use JMWE Validators with select list custom field

Daniel Burris June 14, 2021

Hello. I'm trying to do the following using JIRA Misc workflow extensions (JMWE) validators as a bit of an approval process. Basically if a field (10059, multi select list) is NOT set to None (which is the default no value for this field by JIRA). Then it needs to have one of the few people in the select list (10057) to pass validation.  Here is the basic expression that I thought  would work:

!!issue.customfield_10059 && issue.customfield_10059.some(it => it.value != "None") &&
!!issue.customfield_10057 && issue.customfield_10057.value == "a value in the list"

I tried the inverse of some of the logic above, but I cant see to get it work. It seems to always through the validation error, or never throw it. I'm pretty sure I' missing something simple, but I'm new to these type of expressions. 

As a bonus, it'd be nice to allow for a few values out of the list in 10057 allow it to pass validation (it'd be 3 names out 10 in that list. Something like  10057.value.containts("Approver 1", "Approver 2", "approver 3"). 

4 answers

2 votes
Atlassian Learner January 31, 2023

Hi @David Fischer , Many thanks as always, it worked perfectly, Kudos to you.

Regards,

Ajay

1 vote
David Fischer
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 30, 2023

Hi @Atlassian Learner 

it's similar to what I shared earlier:

!!issue.customfield_10000 || 
!!issue.customfield_10010 && !["N/A","No"].includes(issue.customfield_10010.value)
&& !!issue.customfield_10011 && !["N/A","No"].includes(issue.customfield_10011.value)
&& !!issue.customfield_10012 && !["N/A","No"].includes(issue.customfield_10012.value)
&& !!issue.customfield_10013 && !["N/A","No"].includes(issue.customfield_10013.value)