One ticket owner plus a "task owner/assignee" (may be same or different person)

Scott Ashburn January 14, 2019

I'd read an older post where there was a debate about 1 single ticket owner versus multiple assignees.

I've used Jira and Jira Service Desk and we may go back to that.   What I've learned from my 13 years of experience is there is a "technical department"-type ticket 'shepherd' or 'steward' who can be active and passive on a given technical situation, but this person behaves as the responsible party to get the ticket to the finish line, with or without collaboration.  TWO people at times, one person at other times for the same ticket.

We have found the need to create a "current task owner" who is the 'baton-holder' or the hand-off 'hot potato' where this person may or may not be the technical resource who owns the ticket.   In certain situations, the technical resource may be waiting on information from someone who either presented the ticket or on others who may or may have not originally had any involvement.   In this case we have an owner but also a task owner:  two fields, two people.  The owner maintains an eye on the situation almost as a project manager, regardless of the scale or scope of a matter.   Once the 'current task owner' completes the task, they may hand it off to another. 

I'd like to hear from technical ticket system admins who uses the ticket system that way.   How are you configured?

2 comments

Lindsay Siurna September 25, 2019

Hi Scott,