How to configure the integration between Jira and Opsgenie

Hi there, I'm Pedro and I work as a Support Engineer for the Jira Service Management team in AMER. Since Opsgenie was released bundled with JSM we started receiving cases where the customers were having a hard time performing the integration between these products.

It can be a little tricky to configure the integration between those two products, but when configured it can be a powerful tool. It’s possible to integrate them for when a ticket is created in Jira it will create an alert in Opsgenie, when this alert is acknowledged a comment can be added to the Jira ticket, when the alert is closed it’s possible to close the ticket directly in Jira.

That being said, let’s cover the steps necessary to complete this integration.

Requirements:

• JSM/Opsgenie access;

• API Token;

Steps:

1. Integration setup in Opsgenie;

2. Webhook configuration in Jira;

Configuring the Integration in Opsgenie

1. In Opsgenie, go to Teams and select your team - If you are on JSM Premium, you can find this under Settings > Integration List as well;

2. On the left sidebar go to Integrations;

3. Add Integration > Select either Jira Software or Jira Service Management (both will work, however, I personally recommend using the Jira Software integration even if your project is a Service Management, it has more filter options);

4. Copy the URL to use it on the Jira Webhook;
    url.png

5. Name the integration, assign it to a Team and enable it;

6. Enable the two options below to create this back and forth communication between the products;
    3.png

7. For the next step, you will need to configure your API Token, for that, follow the steps here.

8. On the section below, you need to paste the Issue Type exactly as it is displayed in Jira, your site URL, the email of the user who configured the API Token, the API Token itself, and the project key.