How can I speed up Jira/Confluence

bartfriederichs November 16, 2015

I am quite new to the JIRA/Confluence system, but just having spent the better part of the day installing it (mainly sitting waiting until some task was done), I find it rather slow. Every time you click somewhere, I have to wait at least 5-10 seconds until something happens. Often much longer, also causing time-outs in my proxy. And this is even for trivial tasks like showing a user's profile.

I do not have a very heavy server, so I checked the system requirements, which told me a dual-core server should work fine.

My setup is as follows:

• dual Intel Xeon, 1.8MHz
  • 2G RAM
  • 40G harddisk
  • Linux CentOS 7

What can I do to improve the performance of JIRA/Confluence?

4 answers

1 accepted

6 votes
Answer accepted
Mike Rathwell
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 17, 2015

Bart,

You didn't mention what DB you have behind Confluence. Given that it is a highly DB activity intensive application, that also makes a huge difference. I run mine on Windows 2012R2 (I have reasons for that as much as I prefer LInux for the platform) with a PostgreSQL DB. One of our other divisions run Confluence on a Debian distro with MySQL on an equivalent sized VM. With that difference and adding a couple of caching plugins so I can tune it, mine draws pages almost instantaneously while the one at the other division runs like a dog.

I might also comment that your host system is pretty tiny. Disk size is something that is repairable IF it has decent I/O but that just isn't enough RAM. Even for a small system, you should push to at least 4 and preferably 8GB then do some tuning on the java_opts at startup to increase heap size to JUST big enough (so you don't get into big GC issues.