How Can I Access The jira-config.properties File?

Jira Devtest August 13, 2021

I am not new new to Jira. I've been using it for 10 years and I've been system administrator for 4 years. So I'm not a newbie. I am admittedly new to AWS.

I recently stood up a Jira stack on AWS just to see if I could do it. It was challenging but I did it. It works fine with the exception that AWS works completely differently from the Jira Server that I'm used to. With the latter I used to be able to access the jira-config.properties file lickety split. No problem. Restart Jira in Apache and all my changes were good to go. But I can't figure it out on AWS. The whole file structure and the way it works is alien to me,

I've tried following the online help but no help. Anybody else running into this problem?

TIA

1 answer

Suggest an answer

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
August 14, 2021

Jira on AWS is no different to Jira on your own hardware, it doesn't have a different file structure or behaviour.   If you've used the quick-start for a DC node to create it, there's a few of the manual install steps you can skip because they're done for you, but it still creates a pretty standard structure.

You mention jira-config.properties file, which suggests to me that your experience is with older Jira installations, and leads me to suggest the "completely differently" is actually down to the versions, not the install.