Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create "clickable" link for UNC path

blewis March 12, 2015

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Confluence and I'm curious if it's possible to create a "clickable" link to a UNC share on one of my pages. I've tried creating one using the "Link" and web link option on my page, but that doesn't seem to work. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

3 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Davin Studer
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 12, 2015

You can do it with a "Web link". Highlight the content and then click the link link button and put the UNC path in this format. file://///path/to/unc/share. Yes, you need five slashes at the beginning. The first three are part of the protocol file:/// (yes, indeed it is supposed to have three ... unlike the two in http, https, ftp, etc.). The next two are the first part of the unc path switched from backslashes to slashes.

HUGE CAVEAT!!!

This will only work by default in Internet Explorer and only if the user is on the same network as the UNC path. Meaning, this will not work for a publicly accessible site. This will only work for an internal intranet-ish site. Only IE has the file protocol turned on by default. You can get extensions for Firefox and Chrome that will enable it.

Chrome Extension
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/locallinks/fkkidcgelfcjmebocoaicnelkbnpgpmm

Firefox Extension
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/noscript/?src=search

Rebeccah Quevedo-Prastein May 10, 2016